Goddess or No Goddess? That is the question

“We all come from the Goddess
And to her we shall return
Like a drop of rain
Flowing to the ocean”

Sometimes I’m not sure how I feel about the idea of the goddess. From my understanding, she is a part of all of us and the earth…She is the earth and she is all of us. This is very similar to me of the concept of holy ghost, holy father and holy son. God, Jesus, and…something else are really 1 and the same. Maybe that’s what the Goddess is. The earth, humanity, and the spirit. The reality I’ve finally recognized is that everything in life is merely a tool for us. The real power comes from us and the earth, when you get down to it. As of late, I’ve been referring to Paganism as the religion of “Do-it-Yourself”, especially after reading that the term is related to a word that means “to make, quickly”.

Some people I met have said it best:
“The thing about magic is, you have to be willing to do your part. Magic is only meant to enhance or supplement what you will physically do, yourself.”

Or a good line from Practical Magic:
“Magic isn’t just potions and spells…Things have power because we believe they do.”

Another common phrase among Pagans:
“If you can’t do magic without any tools, you can’t do magic at all.”

With all of that evidence being presented to me, I start to question if there’s really a need for the goddess? If we’re capable of doing everything ourselves and start to realize we alone have power over our lives, why do we continue to cling to the image of the goddess?
Don’t get me wrong, I think the idea of the Goddess is not a bad thing, but is it an empowering thing? I feel that certain aspects of it are.

Here’s another quote for you:
“I feel the god and goddess are a metaphor of what we should aspire to be.”

Sometimes I believe in her and sometimes I don’t. I want to know your opinions. Tell me how you feel, what you think and your reactions to the idea of the goddess.

Leave a Reply

